Skip to main content
click for home
click for my school bucks click for school tool click for tip line click for google mail click for facebook   

Oswego Middle School 8th Grade Recognition Ceremony 2017

The Oswego Middle School (OMS) recently held the 8th Grade Recognition Ceremony.  The Ceremony is held annually to recognize the 8th Grade Class for all of their hard work over the course of the two years of Middle School.  Each student is presented with a Certificate with their name on it in recognition of them completing OMS.

As part of the ceremony the annual OMS Yearbook Dedication was presented to Mr. John Canale; long-time educator and substitute teacher in the Oswego City School District.
Achievement awards are presented to students in all areas including: Math, Science, Social Studies, English and Foreign Language.  Additionally, all special area classes at OMS recognize students for their outstanding efforts. 
Yearbook Dedication- John Canale

The New York State Comptroller Awards are presented annually to 6 students who have shown academic excellence during their time at OMS and have shown the potential for leadership through involvement in activities that improve the school and/or community.  This year’s recipients were: Maxwell Clark, Mary Culeton, Gretchen Dowd, Kyle Familo, Thomas Maleski and Zeida Olson.
Comptroller Award

The New York State Attorney General’s Triple C Award is presented annually to 2 students who have best demonstrated the qualities of Character, Commitment and Courage during their time at OMS.  This year’s recipients were: Matthew Callen and Ava Cloonan.

Each year at OMS the faculty and staff present an Altruism Award to the student who has best demonstrated the characteristics of selflessness and caring for others.  This year’s award was presented to Connor Mulcahey.
Altruism Award- Connor Mulcahey

A summary of all awards that are presented is listed below:
Academic Excellence Award (Top 2 Students Per Team) Sponsored by OMS Home & School Association:
8 South:  Ava Cloonan & Abigail Brancato
8 East:  Zeida Olson & Sasha Loayza
8 West:  Maxwell Clark & Craig Dykas
8 South Team Awards:
English – Hayley Bandla; Math – Cammi Ahern; Algebra I – Madison Casper; Science – Laura Cummings; Living Environment Honors – Jaewon Heo; Social Studies – Samantha Terpening; Home & Career Skills – Gianna Ruggio; Technology – Joseph DeStevens; Music – Audrey Flint; Academic Achievement – Aidan Thompson; Citizenship Award – Maya Upcraft.
8 East Team Awards:
English – Riley Michailidis; Algebra I – Nathan Shannon; Math – Lilyann Mathews; Science – Hadassa Johnson; Living Environment Honors – Megan Cheeley; Social Studies – Ethan Hunt; Home & Career Skills – Cassidy Gazda; Technology – Holden Carter; Music – Zeida Olson; Academic Achievement – Eve Hibbert; Citizenship Award – Connor Mulcahey.
8 West Team Awards:
English – Emily Blake; Math – Kyle Familo; Science – John McGhee-Laracuente; Social Studies – Sierra Freeth; Home & Career Skills – Keyon Johnston; Technology – Emily Powers; Music – Allison Griffin; Academic Achievement – Benjamin Hoefer; Citizenship Award – Derek Sabatini.
Special Area Awards:
Spanish – Brooke Judson, Amelia Rastley, Mia Marsallo, Samuel Liepke; French – Morgan Samson, Seirra Freeth; Art – Jack Spaulding, Evan Brancato, Melanie Solano; Band – Morgan Samson, Sasha Loayza; Chorus – Aidan Thompson, Hayley Bandla; Orchestra – Audrey Hinman, Ethan Hunt; Physical Education – McKenzie Westberry, Nicole Mays, Connor Mulcahey, Aiden Taylor; Literacy – Jeremy Brown, Nathan Smith; Math Enrichment – Skylar Abbott.
Suzanne Basualdo Memorial Scholarship Awards:
Quinn Carter, Donovyn Devlin, Jozlyn Fiorito, Aaron Harteis, Justin Hudson, Jazzlyn Tuttle.
Numerous students were also awarded the following awards:
President’s Award for Educational Excellence
Principal’s Awards
GEMS (Girls Excelling in Math & Science)
Boys Excelling in Math & Science
Perfect Attendance

John Canale - Yearbook Dedication
Altruism Award
2017 NYS Comptroller Awards
Triple C Winners




oswego city school district logo

Dr. Dean F. Goewey, Superintendent

1 Buccaneer Boulevard
Oswego, New York 13126
Phone: 315-341-2000

our vision: fully prepared and life ready

Website Accessibility Statement - The Oswego City School District is committed to providing a website that is accessible to all members of our community. Good faith efforts are being made to ensure that our website complies with web accessibility standards. We are actively working to conform to level AA of the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0. If you have difficulty accessing information on our website, please contact our webmaster and provide the full URL (web address) of the material you tried to access, the problem you experienced, and your contact information. We will contact you and make every effort to assist you in accessing the information.
Please note that some pages contain links to third-party sites. Oswego City School District is not responsible for the content, facts, opinions or accessibility of third-party sites. To file a Section 504/ADA complaint with the district please contact the district
504 Coordinator, any complaint may also be referred to the U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights (OCR), 32 Old Slip, 26th Floor, New York, NY 10005, telephone (646) 428-3800 (voice) or (800) 877-8339 (TTY).
Developed by CNYRIC