Skip to main content
click for home
click for my school bucks click for school tool click for tip line click for google mail click for facebook

KPS students exude perseverance

Kingsford Park Elementary School third-grader Sadie Wilson is the definition of perseverance.
She has steadily worked in stride despite a challenging road throughout her health journey. KPS First-grade teacher and citizenship awards assembly organizer Ashley Malchoff explained to all KPS students during the March celebration that perseverance is the ability to work through difficult situations, which is exactly what Wilson has done as she battled leukemia. With the support of her family, Wilson has triumphed and is now cancer-free.
As a surprise to Wilson and her twin sister, Layla, their parents Michael and Meghan stopped by the assembly to explain what the family has lived through the past few years, all while persevering through it. Several KPS students gasped when they learned Sadie had cancer and then cheered when they heard she was now on a better path.
Through every treatment, Meghan Wilson said, Sadie never lost her smile and she never gave up. A huge part of that as the strength she drew from her twin. The family stretched out Sadie’s “bead of courage” to show every component of her treatment and the school crowd cheered at the resemblance of courage, hope and perseverance. The girls’ kindergarten teacher, Mary Lynne Maxwell, then surprised them with a slideshow all about their perseverance journey.
Sadie was presented with the school’s monthly citizenship award because she has exhibited perseverance through much of her life. Additional perseverance honorees presented with certificates of recognition included: Carter Bailey, Tyler Wolbert, Crisneyshka Rodriguez-Perez, Abbie Mulcahey, Kayden Williams, Jiyanna Chetney, Catherine Goldman, Mason Pippin, Tenley Smegelsky, Anthony Rose, Emma Trainham, Christian Thompson, Kyla Pauldine Little, Katrianna Fronk, Maddox Mazzoli, Anteneh Bouffard, Emma Pauldine Little, Brody Dana, Audrey Donovan, Emma Duval, Torianne Blakeley, Cecil Jones, Emma Trainham, Sophia Boni, Luis Colon-Molina, Brianna Briglin, Kyng Perez and Olivia Kapusciniski.

Website Accessibility Statement - The Oswego City School District is committed to providing a website that is accessible to all members of our community. Good faith efforts are being made to ensure that our website complies with web accessibility standards. We are actively working to conform to level AA of the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0. If you have difficulty accessing information on our website, please contact our webmaster and provide the full URL (web address) of the material you tried to access, the problem you experienced, and your contact information. We will contact you and make every effort to assist you in accessing the information.
Please note that some pages contain links to third-party sites. Oswego City School District is not responsible for the content, facts, opinions or accessibility of third-party sites. To file a Section 504/ADA complaint with the district please contact the district
504 Coordinator, any complaint may also be referred to the U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights (OCR), 32 Old Slip, 26th Floor, New York, NY 10005, telephone (646) 428-3800 (voice) or (800) 877-8339 (TTY).