Skip to main content
click for home
click for my school bucks click for school tool click for tip line click for facebook click for parent square

OHS Hosts Virtual NHS Induction

In a first-of-its-kind event, the Oswego High School National Honor Society Owl’s Head Chapter held a virtual induction ceremony to welcome its 44 new members.
The live-streamed ceremony, thanks to the help from WBUC advisor Matthew Bock, featured NHS advisor Kayley Morse’s opening remarks and praise of each honorees’ hard work and dedication it took to become accepted into the prestigious group. Although the induction was different than in years’ past, Morse said in many ways it had become more special.
“There was no way that I was going to let a pandemic stop us from celebrating these students,” she said. “This the largest group of Inductees in a great number of years. Although I know many of these students because I served as their ninth-grade history teacher, I feel privileged to see them outside of the classroom and develop as leaders within Oswego High School and in the Oswego community.”
Molly Fitzgibbons and Julia Roman, chapter co-presidents, were ecstatic to officially welcome the new members, as Roman added she wished they all had been together in the OHS theater as planned. Fitzgibbons had explained the inductees had met all four pillars, including: leadership, scholarship, character and service. The duo explained them as they were joined by secretary Katie Fierro, vice president Ruhma Khawaja and Bella Herrera.
Each honoree signed their pledges at home and sent them into Morse prior to the virtual ceremony. All 44 new members were recognized by having their name read as their photos were displayed.
Oswego City School District Superintendent Dr. Dean Goewey congratulated the new members and offered the following five-step advice: model the way (be a positive example for those around you), inspire a shared vision (use your influence), challenge the process (don’t just accept the status quo), enable others to act (the power of shared leadership) and encourage the heart (have kindness and compassion). OHS Principal Pat Wallace said he could not be prouder of the inductees’ accomplishments.

“I am awed, not by what you achieve on a daily basis, but the impact you have on those around you,” Wallace said. “You inspire, you achieve, you believe, not only in yourself, but others.”
The 2020 inductees include: Marcus Baker, Emrick Benedicto, Cordelia Brown, Lukas Cady, Katherine Canales Reyes, Joshua Chun, Mary Kate Cloonan, Olivia Day, Sydney DeLapp, Joseph DelConte, Zachary DeMott, Shannon Doyle, Dylan Dunsmoor, Craig Dykas, Kyle Familo, Halie Fantom, Kaitlyn Freeth, Erica Greene, Chelsea Gunther, John Hall, Zachary Kinney-Steinberg, Dalya Kinsizer, Morgan Krul, Thomas May, Iris McDonnell, Zachary Metott, Julia Murray, Patrick Murray, Katelyn Nettles, Phi Nguyen, Preston Norfleet, John O’Leary, Aidan Robbins, Stephen Saltalamachia, Jacob Sledziona, Grace Stephens, Henry Sweeney, Brennan Tynan, Allison Tyrrell, Mallory Upcraft, Madelyne Vashaw, Kailsey Watts, Brenna Williams and Grace Wing.
Website Accessibility Statement - The Oswego City School District is committed to providing a website that is accessible to all members of our community. Good faith efforts are being made to ensure that our website complies with web accessibility standards. We are actively working to conform to level AA of the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0. If you have difficulty accessing information on our website, please contact our webmaster and provide the full URL (web address) of the material you tried to access, the problem you experienced, and your contact information. We will contact you and make every effort to assist you in accessing the information.
Please note that some pages contain links to third-party sites. Oswego City School District is not responsible for the content, facts, opinions or accessibility of third-party sites. To file a Section 504/ADA complaint with the district please contact the district
504 Coordinator, any complaint may also be referred to the U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights (OCR), 32 Old Slip, 26th Floor, New York, NY 10005, telephone (646) 428-3800 (voice) or (800) 877-8339 (TTY).